Paul Simon Speaks to Homeschool Moms

13-time Grammy award-winning singer/songwriter Paul Simon turns 68 today. Born October 13, 1941 Simon rightfully won a Grammy lifetime achievement award for his nearly 50 years of contribution to the popular music scene.

Perhaps no song is more iconic of Simon’s music than “Bridge Over Troubled Water.”

Have you ever paid attention to the lyrics?

When you’re weary, feeling small,
When tears are in your eyes, I will dry them all;
I’m on your side. when times get rough
And friends just cant be found,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

When you’re down and out,
When you’re on the street,
When evening falls so hard
I will comfort you.
Ill take your part.
When darkness comes
And pains is all around,
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will lay me down.

Sail on silvergirl,
Sail on by.
Your time has come to shine.
All your dreams are on their way.
See how they shine.
If you need a friend
I’m sailing right behind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.
Like a bridge over troubled water
I will ease your mind.

I’m not sure what was on Paul Simon’s mind when he penned those lyrics nearly 50 years ago, but I know what I think of. Perhaps you do too. It’s not much of a stretch to hear the words of Jesus speaking to every homeschool mom with a promise of comfort, peace and compassion even to the point of laying down His very life for you.

Go back and read those lyrics once more. This time imagine that it’s Jesus singing those famous lyrics to you as you struggle with the many pressures of homeschooling, parenting, balancing a budget, being a wife and homemaker and caregiver. When we say something is “inspired” we’re literally saying it was “God-breathed.” I believe the Lord breathed these words onto paper through Paul Simon. I don’t know anything about Paul Simon’s faith, and I don’t care. But I do believe there was a force at work in penning those lyrics that was far greater than any human songwriter or entertainer.

Celebrate the birthday of a great American poet/singer/songwriter today. Listen to a few Paul Simon tunes with your kids. And if you’re so inclined, watch this great performance following 9/11 as Simon sings to a grieving nation. But instead, let Jesus speak the words to YOU personally. Let them slowly soak into your soul and hear the Lord’s compassion and boundless love for you. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RD0OibwNWeo&feature=related

Leave a Reply

