On this day in 1888…

… George Eastman patented his roll-film camera. September 4, 1888 forever changed the way we would capture images and record our memories for the future.

I want to talk to you today about the fleeting nature of homeschooling. The weeks, months and yes- even the years race by so quickly. I know it doesn’t seem like it from one day to the next, but trust me on this. Before you’ve blinked your eyes your nest will be empty and the last one will be gone.

After being a homemaker, homeschool teacher, wife and mother I know it’s all you can do to collapse into bed at night. But I want to encourage you to take five extra minutes each day to make a record for the future. Capture a memory of what happened today in your life, your homeschool and your childrens lives.

Do it in a journal, do it with photographs, do it with video clips, do it with a blog. Write it or type it or sketch it- but DO IT! Those little snippets of life, those highlights of each day will be worth their weight in gold in the not-so-distant future when your children are married and have families of their own.

You and your husband will treasure looking back over those notes, journal entries, photos and video clips. Your children will love to look through them with you and remember all the fun you had in homeschool together. And believe it or not- your grandchildren and perhaps your great-grandchildren will treasure them just as much.

A series of vignettes; snapshots of what your life was like back in 2009 when your children were young and you were homeschooling together as a family.

It doesn’t have to be elaborate. It doesn’t have to look professional. None of that will matter- someday. So many of us put off this important task until “we can really do it right” but by then they may all be grown and it won’t matter. At the very least you will have missed out on months or even years of precious memories.

If you’ve ever had the pleasure of looking back through a shoebox full of old photographs of your parents, grandparents or great-grandparents you can thank George Eastman today for those memories. But wouldn’t it be even neater to read a paragraph in your great-grandmother’s own handwriting about what was going on the day that photo was taken back in 1934: Or watch a short video clip or listen to a brief audio recording of your grandfather’s voice telling exactly what he was thinking the day he brought home that shiny new 1953 Studebaker in the photograph?

Take some time today to look through old family photographs with your children and tell them about the remarkable man George Eastman who made all this possible. Then take five minutes before bed tonight to jot down two or three sentences about your day today. You’ll thank me someday.

5 Responses so far »

  1. 2

    Michelle said,

    Yes! I agree! As the mom of 2 adult daughters (27 yo & 21 yo) it has been in the front of my mind most of the time how fast these years pass, and how little I remember on my own!

    Pictures, journals, the random post cards I mail home to my girls when we are traveling are all part of what I do to capture the beauty in our days together.

  2. 3

    Olivia said,

    You’re so right! I’ve been putting off keeping a journal about my kids because I couldn’t do it “right” or the way I wanted it to be. If I keep doing that—I will be left with nothing but sketchy memories when my girls are older. I’m starting tonight! Even if it is just writing a few lines in a notebook. Thank you!

  3. 4

    Marya said,

    Thank you for the reminder. It’s been on my heart lately.

  4. 5

    Mary Arnold said,

    I have no idea why this made me cry?


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

